Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa
"Danses Concertantes"

Tickets: 12€

I. STRAVINSKY       Danses Concertantes
S. AZEVEDO          “Giochi di Uccelli”, Flute and Orchestra Concerto
I. STRAVINSKY       Pulcinella, Suite

Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa
Conductor: Pedro Neves
Soloist: Nuno Inácio (flute)

The FIMA 2017 – Festival Internacional de Música do Algarve presents “Danses Concertantes” with the Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa under the direction of conductor Pedro Neves.
The absolute debut of yet another work by Portuguese composer Sérgio Azevedo, the “Concerto for Flute and Orchestra” Giochi di Uccelli, is the first reason of interest that stands out in this program, which has Nuno Inácio,1st Flute of the Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa, as soloist. The music of Stravinsky comes to Sérgio Azevedo because it is a (good) influence taken by the Portuguese composer. Stravinsky’s Pulcinella ballet was premiered at the Paris Opera House in 1920, with scenarios by Pablo Picasso and Léonide Massine’s choreography. It was, however, through a suite orchestral score that it became popular, nullifying the sung parts included in the original version. The Danses Concertantes would be composed two decades later. It is built over multiple connotations of the universe of dance that soon sparked the creativity of the choreographer George Balanchine.