Orquestra Clássica do Sul
Opening concert "Ode to Joy"


Tickets: 20€
Duration: 80 Minutes
Age: >6

L. BEETHOVEN  Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, "The Choral"

Orquestra Clássica do Sul
Conductor: Rui Pinheiro
Soloists: Carla Simões, Cátia Moreso, João Cipriano, Nuno Araújo Pereira
Symphonic Choir Lisboa Cantat (Conductor Jorge Alves)

Participation of students of the Universidade de Évora: 
Violins: Carlos Santeiro, Gonçalo Martins, José Morais, Mariline Martins, Sara Fradique, Laura Viegas, Catarina Vicente, Ana Beatriz Campaniço, Ana Rita Nunes
Cellos: Filipa Castilho, Júlio Silva
Trombones: Flávio Bolrão, Miguel Bacalhau
Flute: André Cameira
Bassoon: Nuria Dominguez
Horns: Damien Nunes, Rui Rúbio
Percussion: David Silvério, João Pereira, Gonçalo Mendes

The FIMA 2017- Festival Internacional de Música do Algarve presents “Ode to Joy” with the Orquestra Clássica do Sul directed by Rui Pinheiro, its titular conductor.
In this inaugural concert we have a program that presents the absolute debut of "Eu.Rope" by Luís Soldado, OCS associated composer, in which piece the author makes a reflection on what it means to be European in a globalised world, as well as on how Europe will have to look to its cultural and intellectual heritage in order to reinvent itself.
Beethoven is the next composer in this programme, this time with his monumental "Symphony No. 9". The Symphonic Choir Lisboa Cantat and the soloists Carla Simões, Cátia Moreso, João Cipriano and Nuno Silva Pereira will join the OCS to sing "Ode to Joy", the poem by Schiller that inspires this symphony, which bursts out in strength in its final movement making it a hymn that calls for the brotherhood of peoples.

Further info...

How to get to Teatro das Figuras


Municipality of Faro
Algarve Tourism